Because auto insurance is mandatory in Mississippi, it is important to find the best, and lowest prices on insurance. With the technology of the world wide web, it is fast and easy to get multiple quotes in a matter of minutes. Sites such as www.safeauto.comcan provide quotes from the top auto insurance companies in your city, and you can even start your policy online to ensure you are driving legally im Mississippi.
To meet the state’s Financial Responsibility law, anyone registering a vehicle in the state must maintain a minimum of 25/50/25 coverage at all times. These numbers reflect the amounts the auto insurance company is willing to pay for property damage and bodily injury as the result of an at fault accident. These are only the minimum required amounts, and you may choose to increase the amounts or even add additional policies for better protection.
Proof of insurance must be carried in the vehicle at all times. Proof includes an identification card issued by the insurance company, or a letter attesting to your coverage. It is a misdemeanor offense not to carry the minimum amounts of insurance, and can result in penalties including the suspension of your driving privileges, fines, and loss of vehicle registration.
Collision coverage is not required by the state, but many drivers choose to add the policy to the state required amounts. Collision coverage pays for vehicle repairs, up to the Kelley Blue Book value, to your own vehicle as the result of an auto accident. Many finance companies require the collision coverage to be carried. Minimum recommended amounts of coverage is $25,000.
Comprehensive is similar to collision, however, this type of coverage pays for repairs to your personal vehicle for damages as a result of an “Act of God”. Because this is very open, the coverage can repair many types of accidents, including floods, theft, fire, vandalism, tornadoes, snowstorms, and more. Each policy varies by company, so it is important to know what your policy will and will not cover.
Uninsured motorist coverage is also recommended, and protects you from an accident with a motorist who is uninsured, or whose coverage is insufficient to cover damages. $25,000, with a maximum of $50,000, is the recommended amounts to carry on your vehicle.
Any of these additional policies can easily be added to the state required coverage, and in most cases, for just a little bit more than you currently pay for coverage. Remember to compare rates and all of your coverage will stay as low as it can be!