Missouri requires all registered vehicle in the state to carry minimum amounts of liability insurance at all times. The minimum amount of liability insurance coverage required to satisfy Missouri’s Financial Responsibility law is 25,000/50,000/10,000. This means that your insurance policyinsures you against loss in an accident where you have been determined to be at-fault for a minimum of:
-$25,000 in Bodily Injury coverage for one person injured in an accident
-$50,000 in Bodily injury coverage as a maximum amount paid for 2 or more people injured in an accident.
-$10,000 in Property damage coverage to cover costs of damages to property as a result of an accident
It is recommended to carry more coverage than the state required amounts to ensure you are fully covered in the event of an accident. Most insurance companies recommend at least carrying 50,000/100,000.25,000 coverage. The state of Missouri follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and the insurance company is responsible for all the damages incurred as a result of the accident.
Under Missouri law, proof of insurance must be presented to any law enforcement agency during a traffic stop, to the Missouri Department of Revenue, as well as anytime you are renewing a vehicle registration or registering a new vehicle. This proof can be in the form of an identification card or statement issued by the insurance company. Auto insurance companies are required to provide a monthly report of all of their insurance transactions, including coverage lapses and cancellations. It is a criminal offense to drive without insurance, with penalties for doing so.
Failure to maintain the minimum requirements for insurance in the state could result in the suspension of your license and vehicle registration.Missouri allows a point system each time you are caught without auto insurance. Each point means trouble, and as little as 8 points can result in fines and up to 6 months in jail for repeat offenses of failure to meet the Financial Responsibility law in Missouri.
Premiums for auto insurance average $701.00 in Missouri. Many factors can determine how much you will pay. Credit score, driving record, past insurance coverage, age, and type of vehicle being insured can all affect your premium. Comparing rates is the best way to ensure you are getting the bvest for your buck. Free quotes are available online at sites such as www.esurance.com. It is quick and easy, and can save hundreds of dollars on your auto insurance premiums.