Are you committing a crime that you are unaware of? If you are driving without auto insurance in the state of Nevada, you very well are breaking the law! Nevada requires that all drivers in the state carry auto insurance on their vehicle at all times to stay compliant with the Financial Responsibility Act.
The state required minimum coverage includes a Liability policy of $15,000 for bodily injury or death for one person involved in an accident, with a maximum of $30,000 for two or more people injured in an accident. Coverage also covers up to $10,000 for property damage caused by an accident. Additional coverage can be added and may offer a better piece of mind to you. Collision coverage along with comprehensive coverage are not required, but come highly recommend to carry on your vehicle. If an accident does occur, you will be glad you were protected!
Proof of coverage must be carried with you at all times and presented to law enforcement anytime it is requested. In addition to carrying proof if insurance, Nevada has an IVP( Insurance Verification Program) in place that allows a driver a maximum of 20 days to obtain auto insurance or lose their registration. If the insurance proof is not submitted, the individual will lose the registration of the vehicle.
Many different auto insurance agencies are available in all areas of Nevada to provide you with this state required insurance coverage. Many factors can determine how much you will pay to insure your vehicle. Auto insurance agencies may obtain a credit report on any individual obtaining auto insurance. The credit score can have a major impact on the rate. Age, type of vehicle being insured, prior insurance coverage history, and the miles you drive per day can also affect the price.
Compare rates with an online source such as esurance.com. With this site, several auto insurance quotes can be obtained in a matter of minutes. Look for discounts to maximize your savings. A quick comparison can save you hundreds of dollars every single year on your auto insurance!
Average auto insurance rates in Nevada average $166 per month. This is $10 lower than the national average. Keep in mind the many things that can impact your premium. Make sure you are legal by always keeping your auto insurance up to date. Knowing the laws in the state of Nevada can save you headache and hassle!