Overview of Texas Dui Laws

Driving under the influence, also known as DUI, is a serious offence to commit. Many people in Texas do not fully understand the repercussions related to driving under the influence and how serious they really can be. According to dui.drivinglaws.org, the State of Texas prohibits the operation of a motor vehicle by drivers with a .08 percent or above blood alcohol concentration.

Depending entirely on the circumstances the outcome of a penalty may differ. In Texas, drug-related and alcohol offenses are extremely frequent and all carry prosecution penalties with them, as well as administrative penalties. If the alcohol level in the individual’s breath, blood or urine is higher than the percentage limit then the individual is considered to be intoxicated by the law.

Any drug or alcoholic substance prominent in a person’s body that causes lack of concentration, awareness or loss of normal physical and mental faculty use, is also considered to be intoxication. Not only can an individual be charged with being intoxicated when driving a car, but also with other vehicles such as vessels, water skis, aircraft operation and boating. These are Class B misdemeanors in Texas.

It is possible to serve jail sentences for DUI in Texas, and the minimum time to undergo when under the influence of alcohol or drugs is 72 hours. However, the minimum jail time will be extended to at least 6 days if the person in question is carrying alcohol on their person. As well as jail time, Texas DUI laws state that a DUI conviction will result in the individual’s license being suspended for a time limit of 90 days to 1 year.

If there are no definite signs of a positive blood, urine or breath test then automatic driving license suspension is not ruled out. An educational program for individuals who have been known to operate vehicles while intoxicated may be compulsory following a DUI conviction. The failure of completing this program could lead to a complete loss of license. If there are convictions following the first incident, the driver’s license will be suspended for up to 18 months on top of their current license suspension time. A fee of $125 will then be ordered if the person wishes to regain their license after the end of the suspension period.

The refusal of blood, urine or breath tests in Texas can also result in disciplinary action. If a police officer is in some way skeptical about the intoxication levels of that individual, they reserve the right to suspend the license automatically. The minimum time of license suspension for a person aged 21 or older is 90 days, whereas a year will be applicable for those over 21 years of age.

For an individual who risks driving under the influence in Texas and gets caught, there are two major things to be considered. The first is to take the charge considerably seriously. The consequences attached to DUI are relatively long lasting, and so you may receive a criminal record. If you possess a criminal record, you can possibly affect your future prospects, personal freedom and employment opportunities.

The second thing to consider is to contact and hire a Texas DUI lawyer with a good amount of experience. In order to understand the courtroom proceedings following a DUI offence, you should be given the correct guidance. Experienced Texas DUI lawyers are able to make a difference in what the outcome of your case may be.