SR22, or state required, is a special type of form one must obtain from their state once they are considered a high risk driver. This usually occurs once a serious violation of driving laws has occurred. You may be required to obtain this type of form if you get caught driving under the influence, drive without insurance, are a habitual traffic offender, leave the scene or have an at fault accident, or commit any other serious traffic offense.
While SR-22 is usually referred to as insurance it is actually just a form proving you are carrying the state required minimum coverage for your state. The special form is one that the insurance company must fill out for your state to prove financial responsibility. You must keep this insurance for a specified amount of time, usually 3 years. If at any time your SR-22 policy lapses or is canceled, the insurance company must file another form with the state to notify them. At this point your driving privileges will be suspended.
Specific requirements for this insurance vary from state to state. Some states may require you to pay a fee for the filing of SR-22. The insurance company will handle all of the paperwork and filing that is necessary. Most insurance companies offer this type of coverage to individuals.
There are currently 8 states that do not require SR-22. Those states are Pennsylvania, Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, New York, and North Carolina. However, if you move to one of these states while being required to carry SR-22 you must continue to meet your obligations to the state you lived in.
The SR-22 form is not required to be carried in your car, as the DMV registers this requirement on your driver’s record. If law enforcement needs to, it can be easily checked to ensure you are carrying the insurance.
Once you are ordered to obtain an SR-22, expect to see an increase in your insurance cost. The reason for the increase is because your level of required coverage increases. You may also have a filing fee of up to $50 for the handling of the form.
If you are required to keep SR-22 and do not own a vehicle, you must get a non-owners policy. This will not cover a vehicle you are driving, only injuries to yourself. The amount is limited to the policy amount and will not cover anything over this amount. If you own a vehicle, it is in your best interest to obtain the SR-22 as a vehicle owner. The SR-22 will cover any vehicle that you are driving, even if it is not registered to you.
SR-22 is available through most insurance companies that offer auto coverage.