Drivers in Wyoming are required to carry auto insurance at all times to satisfy the state’s Financial Responsibility law. The minimum levels of liability required by Wyoming law are $25,000 per person for bodily injury, with a maximum payable amount of $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $20,000 for property damage.
Driving without insurance in the state of Wyoming is a misdemeanor offense. If you are caught driving without insurance, you will have to pay a minimum fine of $250 up to a maximum fine of $750. In some cases, jail time might be handed down. For a second offense, you will have to pay anywhere from $500 up to $1,500, and you could also go to jail. Be sure you always have the required coverage on your vehicle so you won’t face the consequences.
Wyoming drivers average auto insurance premium are $130, though this amount can greatly vary based on a number of things, including driving record, type of vehicle being insured, age, gender, and even your credir score. Comparing rates amongst several companies can ensure you receive the best prices as well as the best cvoerage. It is recommended that you obtain a minum of 3 different quotes.
Starting with a site such as www.esurance.comcan help you find these auto insurance quotes. In less than 6 minutes you can have quotes from up to 5 different companies in your Wyoming city, all free of charge and with no obligation. Another great auto insurance quotes site is www.dmv.org/Wyoming. Each of these sites allow you to start your coverage while you’re there if you wish.
In addition to the state required coverage, other types of insurance can be purchased, including comprehensive and uninsured/underinsured motorists policies. These are both recommended to carry on your vehicle. Collision coverage can help protect your automobile in an accident, paying up to the Kelley Blue Book value of the car for repairs. Uninsured motorist coverage pays for an auto accident with a motorist who does not carry auto insurance, or whose coverage amounts do not cover the entire costs related to the accident. Vehicles under lease may be required to carry this coverage, regardless of state laws,per agreement with the finance company. The coverage can be added for just a little more than what you are currently paying, and offer the best protection possible.